Dalmahoy's Championship History

Scottish Senior Open
The Scottish Senior Open was founded in 1993 and forms part of the European Senior Tour. This men’s professional tournament for players aged 50 and over was staged at Dalmahoy on 3 occasions.

2008 winner: Peter Mitchell, England
2007 winner: Jose Rivero, Spain
2006 winner: Sam Torrance, Scotland
2000 winner: Noel Ratcliffe, Australia
1999 winner: Neil Coles, England
1998 winner: David Huish, Scotland


European Men's Amateur Championship
The European Amateur Championship is an annual amateur golf tournament. It is played at various locations throughout Europe. It is organized by the European Golf Association and was first played in 1986. It is one of the "Elite" tournaments recognized by the World Amateur Golf Ranking.

1993 winner: Morten Backhausen, Denmark
Beat Lee Westwood, England in a play-off.


The 2nd Solheim Cup
This ladies tournament is represented bi-annually by teams from Europe and the United States. The second ever Solheim Cup was held here at Dalmahoy between 2 - 4 October 1992. The Europeans were victorious gaining 11.5 points against United States 6.5 points.


1986 & 1994-95
Ladies Scottish Open
The Ladies Scottish Open is a women's professional golf tournament in Scotland on the Ladies European Tour (LET).

1995 winner: Alison Nicholas, England
1994 winner: Laura Davies, England
1986 winner: Meredith Marshall, USA


1981-1985 and 1993-1996
Scottish PGA Championship

The Scottish PGA Championship reflects on a long and distinguished history of competition dating back to 1907.

Dalmahoy was the home to the championships on 8 occasions, 1981-1985 and 1993-1996. All of Scotland's greatest names, with the exception of one or two, have enjoyed success at this tournament, helping add to the prestige and standing that surrounds the event. The King’s Course at Gleneagles now plays home to this championship.

1996 winner: Brian Machbank, Scotland
1995 winner: Colin Gillies, Scotland
1994 winner: Andrew Coltart, Scotland
1993 winner: Sam Torrance, Scotland
1985 winner: Sam Torrance, Scotland
1983 winner: Bernard Gallacher, Scotland
1982 winner: Brian Barnes, Scotland
1981 winner: Brian Barnes, Scotland


TPC of Europe
A men's European Tour event played as the Haig Whisky TPC.

1981 winner: Brian Barnes, Scotland


British Matchplay
Played as the Sun Alliance European Matchplay (Jun 28-Jul 1). Mark James (Eng) beat Neil Coles (Eng) 3 and 2 in the final to record his first European Tour win.

1978 winner: Mark James, England


W.D. & H.O. Wills Tournament

Dalmahoy hosted this European Tour event for 3 consecutive years from 1970 to 1972. 2 major champions, Tony Jacklin and Peter Thompson won the event in 1970 and 1972 respectively.

1972 winner: Peter Thomson, Australia
1971 winner: Bernard Hunt, England
1970 winner: Tony Jacklin, England


World Senior Championship
Played as the World Senior Professional Championship, for the Teacher International Trophy (a two-man 36-hole matchplay event).

1966 winner: Fred Haas, USA
Beat Dai Rees, Wales 3 and 2 in the final.


Our Course History

History Timeline

Held the Charles Church Scottish Senior Open 2006 - 2008

Home to the Solheim Cup in 1992

Eight time host to the Scottish PGA Championships

W.D. & H.O. Wills Tournament held at Dalmahoy three times

Golf Memberships Available

Call us on 0131 333 1845 to find out more today

Book Now Gift Vouchers

Book Online, enquire by email or call on 0131 333 1845 to book a tee time

Book a table at The Pentland or Brasserie

Enquire or call on 0131 333 1845

Enquire or call on 0131 333 1845